Our House is Your House

Team Craig, Team Richter win 2019 BC Senior Curling Championship titles

Two new BC champions were crowned on Sunday morning in the final matches of the 2019 BC Senior Curling Championships at Trail Curling Club.

While Craig Lepine’s Langley, Cloverdale, Vancouver and Penticton team of Stan Walker, Craig McLeod and Mike Pelech progressed straight to the senior men’s final after coming first in the round robin, the team was unable to defend their BC Senior Men’s title, which they won in 2017 and 2018.

Wes Craig’s Nanaimo and Kerry Park team of Steve Waatainen, Craig Burton and Keith Clarke were victorious instead, winning what was a close game that required an extra end with a final score of 5-4. To get to the final, Team Craig had to first win a tiebreaker game against Chilliwack’s Team Marshall and then the semifinal against Castlegar and Trail’s Team van Yzerloo.

This is the fourth BC Senior Men’s title for Craig, who previously won the event in 2010, 2014, and 2015. This is the first BC title for his teammates.

In the senior women’s competition, Marilou Richter’s Penticton and Kelowna team of Dawn Everest, Cindy Curtain and Deirdre Riley was dominant all week, winning every single game in round robin play. They eventually won the senior women’s final over Sheila Cowan’s Royal City and Delta Thistle team of Donna Mychaluk, Sandra Comadina and Victoria Murphy by a score of 6-4.

This is the first BC title for Richter, Everest and Riley. Curtain will be making her second trip to the Canadian Seniors, having also won the BC Senior Women’s Championship in 2016 with Team Foster.

Team Craig and Team Richter will now represent BC at the 2019 Canadian Senior Curling Championships, which are taking place at Chilliwack Curling Club from March 22 to 28.

Scores, rosters and standings from the 2019 BC Senior Curling Championships are available at playdowns.curlbc.ca.

  • RSS
  • Newsletter
  • Facebook
  • Forum
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Skip to toolbar